LA UNION

by: Edge Dulatas



The chill “kewl” kids of ELYU



Okay……. How to start? My friend called two hours before our bus ride going to La Union. She told me she can’t make it on our 11pm bus trip. I have to go there alone and she will follow the next day. I was so anxious ‘coz we don’t have any hotel reservations yet. I’m not really prepared that time.
Yes! I was alone. 😭😭😭 I arrived at 430am. Good thing the bus conductor was very nice and helpful. They drop me at San Juan, La Union. Luckily, the tricycle drivers suggested hotels nearby. You should book in advance! I swear! 

It was difficult to book in a beach front hotel. I found a small room near Mad Monkeys. “Balay ni Elizabeth” is for the budget-conscious. 

 

I really wanted to check-in at Flotsam and Jetsam Hotel but it’s fully booked. Better book in advance. I heard a lot of good reviews about it. 

At 7am, I decided to walk around Urbiztondo. And this is my morning view….


While waiting for my friend, I decided to spend my whole day at Thunderbird Poro Resort. (From the Filipino movie No Other Woman) 

They charge Php1500 for the day tour. (Not sponsored)


It’s nice to have company, but since I don’t have a choice I have to make the most out of it. 


The staff are very nice and kind. I also asked if they can provide transport to the light house. They said yes! And it’s for free! Yey!!! 


Tip πŸ’‘Don’t ride the tricycle directly from San Juan to San Fernando (Thunderbird Poro). Ride a jeep going to the market of San Fernando (Php10) then transfer to a tricycle (Php40).  I also did this going back to San Juan. Tipid mode πŸ‘πŸ»

Time check: 8pm and I’m still waiting for my friend! 😭😭😭


I ate dinner at Mad Monkey’s. Everthing in La Union is chill. It’s like highschool and college students combination in one place haha! Teen vibes! I love the laid-back-kinda-life in LU.
And finally after long hours of waiting……. My friend arrived….. It was 11pm. I’m really glad she made it. 


This is my friend, Jinkee. She really wanted to go at Flotsam for drinks. But I have to cut the night short…. ✌🏻 (I don’t drink) 
Good Morning Sunshine! We walked at the beach going to Flotsam and Jetsam for breakfast. 



Makai bowls for breakfast. Love the cool and chill vibes here.

SURFING

Urbiztondo, San Juan, La Union

 

Thunderbird Poro Point

San Fernando, La Union

Thunderbird Poro Point

Chasing Sunsets



ITENERARY WITH BUDGET 😊

OPTION 1

DAY 00 

  • 11pm bus trip Partas Pasay

DAY 01

  • 4:30am Arrival
  • 5:00am Hotel Check-in (Balay ni Elizabeth Php1,200)
  • 7:00am Walk to the beach/Take Photos/Breakfast 
  • 8:00am Thunderbird Poro Point (Day Tour Php1,500)  Ride jeep going to San Fernando market (Php10) Then from the market, ride tricycle going to Thunderbird (Php40)
  • 12:00noon (Php700 consumable from the day tour)
  • 5:00pm Lighthouse
  • 6:00pm Go back to San Juan (Php30)
  • 7:00pm Dinner (Php300) (Mad Monkey’s/ Gefseis Greek Grill/ Surf Shack/ Tagpuan/ Urbiztondo Grill House/ El Union Coffee)
  • 11:00pm Nightlife (It depends how much you drink haha) (Ol’ Pub La Union/Flotsam and Jetsam Hotel)


DAY 02 

  • 7:00am Walk to the beach 
  • 8:00am Breakfast at Makai Bowls(Flotsam and Jetsam) (Php150)
  • 10:00am Surfing (Php400/ hour)
  • 12:00noon Check-out 
  • 1:00pm Lunch at Thunderbird Poro (Php400)
  • 3:00pm Go to the market for pasalubong (Php400)
  • 4:00pm Bus going to Cubao/Pasay (Php350-400) (6-7 hours travel time) 
  • 11:00pm Cubao 😊

     Total Php4,780 (It really depends on how much you eat and drink haha! 😍)

    OPTION 2

    DAY 00 

    • 11pm bus trip Partas Pasay


    DAY 01

    • 4:30am Arrival
    • 5:00am Hotel Check-in (Balay ni Elizabeth Php1,200) (Php680/ bed Flotsam and Jetsam)
    • 6:00am Breakfast (Php100)
    • 7:00am Trek to Tangadan Falls (Php500 tricylce plus tour guide) 
    • 12:00noon Lunch (Php200)
    • 3:00pm Freshen up
    • 4:00pm Walk along the beach/Tambay/Chill
    • 7:00pm Dinner (Php300) (Mad Monkey’s/ Gefseis Greek Grill/ Surf Shack/ Tagpuan/ Urbiztondo Grill House/ El Union Coffee)
    • 11:00pm Nightlife (It depends how much you drink haha) (Ol’ Pub La Union/Flotsam and Jetsam Hotel)


    DAY 02 

    • 7:00am Walk to the beach 
    • 8:00am Breakfast at Makai Bowls(Flotsam and Jetsam) (Php150)
    • 10:00am Surfing (Php400/ hour)
    • 12:00noon Check-out 
    • 1:00pm Lunch at Gefseis Greek Grill (Php400)
    • 2:00pm Visit Ma Cho Temple (ride triclycle)
    • 4:00pm Bus going to Cubao/Pasay (Php350-400) (6-7 hours travel time) 
    • 11:00pm Cubao 😊

     Total Php3,580 (It really depends on how much you eat and drink haha! 😍)

    TIPSπŸ’‘

    • Always haggle (tawad/ discount)
    • Food sharing (If you are traveling alone, it’s nice to make friends….. you have someone to talk with and eat with)
    • Tricycle sharing (they have discounts on group)
    • Try to sleep in a dorm type hostel (It’s cheaper and you can get to meet people)
    • Talk to to the locals (They are the one who instructed me to take the jeep instead of the tricycle)
    • Don’t sleep too much! Haha! Try to maximize the time! 
    • Smile and Have fun!!!!! 😍😊😘

    🌊

    Photos were all mine. iphone only. 

    Thanks for reading! 

    Xoxo, 

    Edge❀

    Leave a Reply

        Blog at WordPress.com.

    Up ↑

