MARAJAW NA ADLAW SIARGAO

by: Edge Dulatas


Eat. Surf. Sleep. Repeat

img_6949

This is where all it started

My friend (Jinkee) asked me to go with her to Siargao….. Since I haven’t ride a plane my whole life. I said yes!

One day before our trip, she said she couldn’t make it. All my bags are packed (…. and I’m ready to go…)

Wait……. What?????? Seriously? I thought it was joke. It wasn’t. 😭😭😭

To cut the long story short….. I’m alone!

  • First time to go to the airport✔️
  • First time to a ride a plane✔️
  • First time to go alone in an island✔️
  • First time to explore Philippines ✔️
  • First time to realize I can do a lot of things ✔️

Honestly, I couldn’t sleep…. It was truly filled of mixed emotions. At first, I was so afraid… But then I realized how free I am to do the things I never thought of doing.
My officemate (Thanks Ate Joan!) referred a hotel. ARKA HAYAHAY. The owner is her cousin. Special thanks to them (Lea and Caryl May). They gave me a discount and they joined me for dinner and for the island tours.

 

I started my Day One just watching at the beautiful waves of Cloud9. I was speechless!

Caryl May and Edge @ Cloud9

Lea and Edge @ Cloud 9

Surfing? Siargao is the best place for you. It’s good for non-surfers too! (Like me! Haha) The waves are really amazing. I can watch it all day. It’s relaxing. You feel free! And I realized, the Philippines is so beautiful!

 

Arka Hayahay

 


Love this hotel in General Luna Siargao

  • 1600/night
  • Wifi
  • Tours


Tip: Request Room Number 6 for this Superb view 👌🏻

 Magpupungko Rock Pool

Sooo….. Is it a high-tide or a low-tide???

Yes!

In order for it to transform into a rock pool, we need to wait for a low tide.

That’s around 11am. It is 1 hour habal-habal ride from General Luna. This is the highlight of my Siargao trip! It is a MUST-SEE, I promise!

  • Habal is the main transportation in Siargao. It can accommodate 3 passengers.




Island Tour 

  1. Naked Island
  2. Dako
  3. Guyam



Malinao Beach

ITINERARY

DAY1

  • 8:30am Manila-Cebu (Cebu Pacific roundtrip Manila-Cebu-Siargao Php4,427.04)
  • 10:00am Brunch at Cebu Airport
  • 1:00pm Siargao Airport
  • 2:00 General Luna (45 minutes van ride from the airport Php150)
  • 2:30pm Check in at Hotel (Arka Hayahay Php1,600/ night aircon room; Php500/bed fan room)
  • 3:00pm rest / freshen up
  • 4:00pm Cloud 9 (habal- habal Php20/ rent a bicycle/ rent a motorcycle)
  • 7:00pm Dinner at La Luna 
  • 9:00pm walk back to hotel (no lights along the road;don’t worry it’s safe)

DAY2

  • 6:00am breakfast (yep! I wake up early on vacay… haha) 
  • 7:00am Walk around Cloud 9 
  • 8:00am Surfing (Php500/ hour)
  • 10:00am On the way to Magpupungko Tidal Flats (45 mins habal habal ride Php700)
  • 11:00am Magpupungko Rock pool (entrance Php50)
  • Lunch
  • 4:00pm freshen up/ rest
  • 7:00pm Dinner at Mama’s Grill; The best Sinugba ever! I swear! (Php 150 grilled Marlin)

DAY3

  • 6:30am Mass (Siargaonon/Bisaya huhuhuhu I can’t understand)
  • 8:00am Malinao Beach (rent habal habal Php200)
  • 12:00noon Island hopping (Php1,500 boat rental for sharing) 
  • Naked Island
  • Dako
  • Guyam
  • 4:00pm it’s raining
  • 7:00pm Dinner at Ronaldo’s (Php200)
  • 10:00pm Videoke 

DAY4 

  • 7:00am Breakfast
  • 8:00am Swim at beachfront (be careful of the rock formation)
  • 10:00am Check out / Van ride to the airport (Php150)
  • 1:30pm Siargao to Cebu


Will post another blog for my Cebu side trip….

Every trip, i make sure to get a good massage! I just requested for a massage service in the hotel!👍🏻 Php500/hr

TIPS💡

  • You should go in groups (it’s cheaper) (and it’s hard to look for boat group sharing)
  • Bring everything you need coz there are limited stores (the place is not commercialized which is a good thing)
  • Reef-based surfing so don’t expect it will be smooth as sand everytime you fall 
  • Bring cash with you (there is no atm)
  • I’m not sure but I didn’t see a hospital, gas station, mercury drugstore, convinience store etc…. There is a grocery store in General Luna
  • Always save emergency numbers 
  • The locals are very friendly 👌🏻
  • Surfing and tours are organized by the hotel, so it’s hassle free


Photos were all mine. iphone only.

Thanks for reading!

Xoxo,

Edge❤

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑